

STATE OF ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D.
State Superintendent of Education

Alabama State Board of Education

Governor Kay Ivey President

> Jackie Zeiglei District I

Tracie West District II President Pro Tem

> Stephanie Bell District III

Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D.

Tonya S. Chestnut, Ed.D. District V

> Marie Manning District VI

> Belinda McRae District VII

Wayne Reynolds, Ed.D. District VIII Vice President

Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. Secretary and Executive Officer

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

April 5, 2023

Contact: Communication 334-694-4686 comm@alsde.edu

122 SCHOOLS RECEIVE PURPLE STAR DESIGNATIONS

Montgomery, Ala. - The Alabama State Department of Education is proud to announce that 122 Alabama Schools will receive 2023 Purple Star School designations. This designation affirms the school's commitment and support of military students and their families.

The Purple Star School program was designed to help mitigate the challenges of high mobility by setting standards for and publicly designating military-friendly schools. The Purple Star School Award recognizes schools that show a major commitment to students and families connected to our nation's military. Schools that earn the award will receive a special Purple Star School banner to display on site.

"As military families relocate to a new community and students transition between schools, the students are often faced with unique challenges," said State Superintendent Dr. Eric G. Mackey. "Adapting to a new school, along with varying course offerings, schedules, and graduation requirements can be stressful. We want to ensure every student who moves to Alabama is given every opportunity for academic growth and achievement – and the Purple Star School Program helps families identify military-friendly schools and helps the schools become more prepared to address to the challenges facing these students."

The 2023 Purple Star Schools are:

Autauga County Schools

Marbury High School
Prattville Elementary School
Prattville Intermediate School
Prattville Kindergarten School
Prattville Primary School

Baldwin County

Daphne East Elementary School
Daphne Elementary School
Daphne High School
Florence B Mathis Elementary School
W.J. Carroll Intermediate School

-more-

Dale County

Ariton High School
Dale County High School
George W. Long Elementary School
George W. Long High School
Midland City Elementary School
Newton Elementary School

Decatur City Schools

Austin High School Austin Junior High School Austin Middle School Austinville Elementary School Banks-Caddell Elementary School Benjamin Davis Elementary School Chestnut Grove Elementary School **Decatur High School** Eastwood Elementary School Frances Nungester Elementary School Julian Harris Elementary School Leon Sheffield Magnet School Oak Park Elementary School Walter Jackson Elementary School West Decatur Elementary School Woodmeade Elementary School

Elmore County

Coosada Elementary School
Eclectic Middle School
Holtville High School
Millbrook Middle School
Redland Middle School
Stanhope Elmore High School
The Edge
Wetumpka High School
Wetumpka Middle School

Homewood City

Homewood Middle School Homewood High School

Huntsville City

Academy for Science and Foreign Language Elementary School Academy for Science and Foreign Language Middle School Blossomwood Elementary School Chaffee Elementary School Challenger Elementary School Challenger Middle School

122 SCHOOLS RECEIVE PURPLE STAR DESIGNATIONS

Chapman Elementary School

Chapman Middle School

Columbia High School

Dr. Ronald E. McNair Junior High School

Farley Elementary School

Goldsmith Schiffman Elementary School

Hampton Cove Elementary School

Hampton Cove Middle School

Highlands Elementary School

Huntsville High School

Huntsville Junior High School

James I. Dawson Elementary

Jones Valley Elementary School

Lakewood Elementary School

Lee High School

Mae Jemison High School

Martin Luther King Jr. Elementary School

McDonnell Elementary School

Monte Sano Elementary School

Montview Elementary School

Morris Elementary School

Morris Middle School

Mountain Gap Elementary School

Mountain Gap Middle School

New Century Technology High School

Providence Elementary School

Ridgecrest Elementary School

Rolling Hills Elementary School

Sonnie Hereford Elementary School

The Academy for Academics and Arts Middle School

The Academy for Academics and Arts Elementary School

Virgil I. Grissom High School School

Weatherly Heights Elementary School

Whitesburg Elementary School

Whitesburg Middle School

Williams Elementary IB World School

Williams Middle School

Jacksonville City

Jacksonville High School

Kitty Stone Elementary School

Madison County

Buckhorn Middle School

Central School

Endeavor Elementary School

Harvest Elementary School

Hazel Green Elementary School

Hazel Green High School

122 SCHOOLS RECEIVE PURPLE STAR DESIGNATIONS

Legacy Elementary School Madison County Elementary School Madison County High School Madison County Virtual Academy Madison Cross Roads Elementary School Monrovia Elementary School Monrovia Middle School Moores Mill Intermediate School New Hope Elementary School New Hope High School New Market Elementary School Owens Cross Roads Elementary School Riverton Intermediate School Sparkman 9th Grade School Sparkman High School Sparkman Middle School

Ozark City

Lisenby Primary School Mixon Intermediate School

Russell County

Dixie Elementary School Ladonia Elementary School Mount Olive Intermediate School Mount Olive Primary School Oliver Elementary School

Saraland City

Saraland Early Education Center Saraland Elementary School Saraland High School Saraland Middle School

Alabama Independent School Association

Macon East Academy

Alabama Purple Star Schools Program, established by Legislature with the passage of Act 2021-7, recognizes the efforts of the K-12 schools in the state that are committed and supportive of military students, and their families, as they transition to new homes and schools.