Macon East held its annual upper school Honors Day assembly Friday, May 12 in the school gymnasium.  The Class of 2017 began the event with their graduate processional.  Numerous college and university representatives and community organizations were in attendance to present the senior class with over $1.95 million dollars in scholarships.  Following the recognition of all scholarship offerings, school faculty and administration presented the following Subject Awards and Special Awards.  The Class of 2017 also received their honor cords to be worn at the commencement ceremony.  We congratulate all of these 7th-12th grade students on their outstanding accomplishments.

2017 Subject Awards and Special Awards


Senior High History:  Susie Johnson, Tyler Watson

Junior High History: Spencer Lindemood, Jonathan Mathis, and McKinnon Hammonds

Senior High Science:  Bryson O’Malley, Tyler Watson

Junior High Science:  Will Desmarais

Junior High Math:

Pre- Algebra: Rachel Major

 Algebra: Cassie Starling

Geometry: Kyungsoo Jang, Spencer Lindemood

Senior High Math:

Calculus: Slate Garmany

Pre- Calculus (Kaylee Pullin- Senior and Tyler Watson- Junior)

Algebra II: Seon Young Jang

Algebra III: Austin Gault, Mary Brooks Thomas

Computer: Spencer Lindemood

Junior High Art: Haley Wren

Senior High Art: SeonYoung Jang, Jennifer Campbell

Spanish : Seth Meadows

Junior High English: Kayla Boroff, Spencer Lindemood, Rachel Sargent

Senior High English:  Alex Wyrosdick

Creative Writing: Gracie Johnston

Speech:  Dawn Johnson

Spelling Bee:

7th Grade Winner: Jay Moore   

7th Grade Alternate: Preston Smith

8th Grade Winner: Will Desmarais

8th Grade Alternate: Gracie McIntosh

Lance and Shield Award: Alex Wyrosdick

AISA Drama District Winner: Katherine Kirk

Art Awards:

AISA District Participants:

Valorie Roberts won 1st place in the Printmaking category

Haley Wren won both 1st and 3rd places in Collage/Mixed Media, 2nd place in Drawing Non-color, and 3rd place in Drawing Color.

Zach Kitchens won 3rd place in the 3D category

Madison Folkes won 3rd place in the Printmaking category

Jennifer Campbell won 3rd place in the Painting category

SeonYoung Jang won 2nd place in the Collage/Mixed Media category 

AISA State Participants:

Valorie Roberts – 2nd place in the Printmaking category

Haley Wren – 3rd place in the Collage/Mixed Media category

SeonYoung Jang – 1st place in the Collage/Mixed Media category 

Math Competition:

7th – 9th

AISA Junior High School Math Competition Team:

Ali Churchwell, Casie Starling, Georgia Blaze, Jay Moore, Will Desmaris, Rachel Major, Max Taylor, Katherine Kirk

AISA High School Math Competition Team:

Seth Meadows, Tyler Watson, Chandler Lunn, Susie Johnson, DJ Holifield

Youth In Government

(Pike Road) Tyler Watson, Katie Jo Dickey, Seth Meadows, Will Dowe, and D. J. Holifield

(Montgomery) Katie Jo Dickey, Alexa McGough, Travis Moody, Hannah Johnson, Amber McGuff, Bryson O’Malley

Alabama Lions High School Leadership: Dawn Johnson, Jake Gracey

Dixie Electric Cooperative Youth Tour: Tyler Watson

Capstone Leadership Academy: Anne Auston Wright

DAR Good Citizens Winner: Alex Wyrosdick

School Community Service Award: Jennifer Campbell for local , nationally and globally  and Susie Johnson for service to her school for total number of hours

Spirit of the Community Award: Alex Wyrosdick for tutoring center, Sami Nesbitt for Mane

Duke Talent Identification Program:

Hendley Culpepper, Jay Moore, McKinnon Hammonds, Trey Mathews, Ali Churchwell

Hugh O’Brien Youth Leadership Award: Dawn Johnson , Madisyn Kennedy

Alabama Girls State: Katie Jo Dickey

Alabama Boys State: Tyler Watson

National Honor Society Leadership Award: Alex Wyrosdick

Wendys Heisman :  Girls: Alex Wyrosdick  Boys: Seth Meadows

Jimmy Hitchcock:

Senior High: Alex Wyrosdick, Seth Meadows

Junior High: Emily Claire Lott, Jake Wyrosdick

Hilda Story Teacher of the Year Award: Logan Smith

SGA Leadership Award: Sami Nesbitt , Alex Wyrosdick 

AISA Headmaster’s Association Award: Alex Wyrosdick

I Dare You Leadership Award: Sami Nesbitt

Mandy Williams Christian Leadership Award: Alex Wyrosdick

Jack Cox Service Award: Chandler Lunn

Zeta Spence Memorial Award: Alex Wyrosdick