The Macon East Academy chapter of the National Honor Society held its annual induction ceremony recently welcoming 18 new members.   The National Honor Society is the nation’s premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students. More than just an honor roll, NHS serves to recognize those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service, and character.

  • Scholarship
    Per national guidelines, at a minimum, students must have a cumulative GPA of 85, B, 3.0 on a 4.0 scale, or equivalent standard of excellence. (Each school chapter is allowed to require a higher cumulative GPA.)  The Macon East chapter GPA requirement is 3.625.
  • Service
    This involves voluntary contributions made by a student to the school or community, done without compensation.
  • Leadership
    Student leaders are those who are resourceful, good problem solvers, and idea contributors. Leadership experiences can be drawn from school or community activities while working with or for others.
  • Character
    The student of good character is cooperative; demonstrates high standards of honesty and reliability; shows courtesy, concern, and respect for others; and generally maintains a clean disciplinary record.

Under advisor Mr. Raymond Clinton, the 2016-2017 NHS is led by Alex Wyrosdick (President), Jennifer Campbell (Vice-President), Tyler Watson (Secretary/Treasurer), and Hannah Johnson (Chaplain).   The 2016 inductees are Slate Garmany, Lindsey Johnson, Christian Lewis (seniors), Isabella Fagan, Annslie Gourlay, Jake Gracey, Dawn Johnson, Madisyn Kennedy, Jackson Little, Jon Maddox, Brian Major, Cody Nesbitt, Katie Pittenger, Bailey Nyberg, Anna Grace Tompkins, Sydney Weverink, Bailey Williams, and Anne Auston Wright (sophomores).